It is not necessary to be a professional draughtsman, or a water painter, to gain by this characteristic lesson in seeing and drawing water. Ruskin was a seer, in every cast of the word: and I do not know that one realises it in any pages of his more than in these two least considered drawing primers of his, which deal with the elements and principles of his art. That they do not give us his latest teaching, it is well finally to remember. He changed his opinion about the value of stippling, for instance; and they should be read conjointly with his Laws of Fesole (which was never completed) and other later books, if we would use them aright.

A Student of Ruskin March 1907.

The following is a list of Ruskin's published works:

Ruskin's first printed writings were contributions to the Magazine of Natural History, 1834-6, and Poems in Friendship's Offer-ing, 1835, Oxford prize poem, Salsette and Elephanta, 1839.

Modern Painters, Vol. I. 1843; 2nd. ed., 1844; 3rd ed., 1846 - later ones followed; Vol. II., 1846; Vol. III., 1856; Vol. IV., 1856; Vol. V., 1860. Selections from Modern Painters include Frondes Agrestes, 1875; In Montibus Sanctis, 1884; Cceli Enarrant, 1885 (see also p. xiii).

Seven Lamps of Architecture, 1849; second edition, 1855. The Scythian Guest, 1849 (from Friendship's Offering);

Poems, J850 (from Friendship's Offering, Amaranth, London Monthly Miscellany, Keepsake, Heath's Book of Beauty, with others not previously printed). Stones of Venice, Vol. I., 1851; second edition, 1858; Vol. II., 1853; second edition, 1867; Vol. III., 1853; second edition, 1867.

The King of the Golden River, 1851; Notes on the Construction of Sheepfolds, 1851;

Examples of the Architecture of Venice, 1851;

Pre-Raphaelitism, 1851;

The National Gallery, 1852;

Giotto and his works in Padua, 3 parts, 1853, 1854, 1860;

Lectures on Architecture and Painting, 1854, 1855;

The Opening of the Crystal Palace, 1854;

Pamphlet for the preservation of Ancient Buildings and Landmarks, 1854;

Notes on the Royal Academy, No. I., 1855 (three editions); No. II., 1856 (six editions); No. III. (four editions), 1857 (two editions); Nos. IV., V. and VI., 1858, 1859, 1875;

The Harbours of England, 1856, 1857, 1859;

Notes on the Turner Gallery at Marlborough House, 1856-7 (several editions in 1857);

Catalogue of the Turner Sketches in the National Gallery, 1857 (two editions);

Catalogue of Turner's Drawings, 1857-8;

The Elements of Drawing, 1857 (two editions);

The Political Economy of Art, 1857, published in 1880 as A Joy for Ever;

Inaugural Addresses at the Cambridge School of Art, 1858;

The Geology of Chamouni, 1858;

The Oxford Museum, 1859;

The Unity of Art, 1859;

The Two Paths, 1859;

Elements of Perspective, 1859;

Tree Twigs, 1861;

Catalogue of Turner Drawings presented to the Fitzwilliam Museum, 1861;

Unto this Last, 1862 (from the Cornhill Magazine);

Forms of the Stratified Alps of Savoy, 1863;

The Queen's Gardens, 1864;

Sesame and Lilies, 1865 (two editions);

*' The Ethics of the Dust, 1866;

The Crown of Wild Olive, 1866 (two editions); War, 1866;

Time and Tide, 1867;

Leoni, a legend of Italy, 1868 (from Friendship's Offering);

Notes on the Employment of the Destitute and Criminal Classes, 1868;

References to Paintings in illustration of Flamboyant Architecture, 1869;

The Mystery of Life and its Arts (afternoon lectures), 1869;

The Queen of the Air, 1869 (two editions);

The Future of England, 1870;

Samuel Prout, 1870 (from The Art Journal);

Verona and its Rivers, 1870;

Lectures on Art, 1870;

Drawings and Photographs illustrative of the Architecture of Verona, 1870;

Fors Clavigera, 1871-84;

Munera Pulveris, 1872;

Aratra Pentelici, 1872;

Instructions in Elementary Drawing, 1872;

The Relation between Michael Angelo and Tintoret, 1872;

The Eagle's Nest, 1872;

Monuments of the Cavalli Family, 1872;

The Nature and Authority of Miracle (from the Contemporary Review), 1873;

Val D'Arno, 1874;

Mornings in Florence (in parts), 1875 - 7;

Proserpina (in parts), 1875-86; Vol. I., 1879;

Deucalion (in parts), 1875-83; Vol. I., 1879; Vol. II. (two parts only), 1880, 1883;

Ariadne Florentina, 1876;

Letters to the 'Times' on Pre-Raphaelite Pictures in the Exhibition of 1854, 1876;

Yewdale and its Streamlets, 1877;

St. Mark's Rest (3 parts), 1877-9, 1884;

Guide to Pictures in the Academy of Arts, Venice, 1877;

Notes on the Turner Exhibition, 1878;

The Laws of Fesole (four parts, 1877-8), 1879;

Notes on the Prout and Hunt Exhibition, 1879-80;

Circular respecting the Memorial Studies at St. Mark's, 1879-80;

Letters to the Clergy (Lord's Prayer and the Church), 1879, 1880;

Arrows of the Chace, 2 vols., 1880;

Elements of English Prosody, 1880;

The Bible of Amiens, 1884 (first published in parts);

Love's Meinie (Lectures delivered at Oxford, 1873-81), 1881;

Catalogue of Drawings and Sketches by Turner in the National Gallery, 1881;

Catalogue of Silicious Minerals at St. David's School, Reigate, 1883;

The Art of England," 1884 (originally published as separate lectures);

The Storm Cloud of the Nineteenth Century, 1884;

Catalogue of Specimens of Silica in the British Museum, 1884;

Catalogue of Minerals given to Kirkcudbright Museum, 1884;

The Pleasures of England (Lectures delivered), 1884-5;

On the Old Road, contributions to Periodical Literature, 2 vols., 1885;

Prseterita, 3 vols., 1885-9;

Dilecta, 1886-87;

Hortus Inclusus, 1887;

Ruskiniana, 1890-92;

Poems (Complete edition), 1891;

Poetry of Architecture, 1892 (from the Architectural Magazine ).

Stray Letters to a London Bibliophile, 1892;

Letters upon Subjects of General Interest to various Correspondents, 1892;

Letters to William Ward, 1893 5 Letters addressed to a College Friend, 1894;

Separate Collections of Letters, edited by T. J. Wise, were published 1894, 1895, 1896, and 1897;

Letters to Charles Eliot Norton, edited by C. E. Norton, 1897;

Lectures on Landscape, 1897;

Letters to Mary and Helen Gladstone, 1903.

Works, in eleven volumes, 1871-83;

Complete revised edition of Modern Painters, with Bibliography, Notes, etc. (6 vols.), 1888;

The Life and Letters and Complete Works, Library Edition, edited by E. T. Cook and A. Wedderburn, 1903, etc., in about 38 volumes.

For Life, see also W. G. Collingwood: John Ruskin, a Biographical Outline, 1889;

Life and Work of John Ruskin, 1893;

Life of John Ruskin, 1900;

Frederic Harrison: English Men of Letters, 1902.