Mixed revisions are normal

The fact is, every time you run svn commit, your working copy ends up with some mixture of revisions. The things you just committed are marked as having larger working revisions than everything else. After several commits (with no updates in between), your working copy will contain a whole mixture of revisions. Even if you're the only person using the repository, you will still see this phenomenon. To examine your mixture of working revisions, use the svn status --verbose command (see the section called “See an overview of your changes” for more information.)

Often, new users are completely unaware that their working copy contains mixed revisions. This can be confusing, because many client commands are sensitive to the working revision of the item they're examining. For example, the svn log command is used to display the history of changes to a file or directory (see the section called “Generating a list of historical changes”). When the user invokes this command on a working copy object, they expect to see the entire history of the object. But if the object's working revision is quite old (often because svn update hasn't been run in a long time), then the history of the older version of the object is shown.