1. The Fox Terrier.

2. The Wire-haired Fox Terrier, 3. The Dandie Dinmont Terrier.

4. The Bedlington Terrier.

5. The Black and Tan Terrier.

6. The Skye Terrier.

7. The Bull Terrier.

8. The Scotch Terrier.

9. The Irish Terrier.

10. The White English Terrier.

11. The Airedale Terrier.

12. The Aberdeen Terrier.

Some of the varieties included in this group differ widely from each other in physical characteristics. On the one hand we have the light and nimble black and tan, with a long head and gradually tapering jaw, and on the other the low-legged and very strongly built Dandie Dinmont, with a comparatively large and wide head and more truncated muzzle. All of them, however, closely resemble each other in the work they are mostly kept to, and which, as it is their legitimate business, they take to with most readiness and zest.

All of them have been, doubtless, much modified from the native terrier of Britain of some centuries ago, and many of them are admittedly manufactured by the admixture of other kinds with the terrier base, yet as every class of them possesses marked qualities in common, and are, above all things, vermin destroyers, and in a variety of ways used for that purpose, they thus form a natural group on the lines we laid down for classifying the dogs upon which we treat in these pages.