Classification Of Marmas

There are one hundred and seven Marmas (in the human organism), which may be divided into five classes, such as the Mánsa-Marmas, Sirá-Marmas, Snáyu-Marmas, Asthi-Marmas and the Sandhi-Marmas. Indeed there are no other Marmas (vulnerable or vital parts) to be found in the body than the preceding ones. 2.

Their Different Numbers

There are eleven Mánsa-Marmas (vulnerable muscle-joints); forty-one Sirá-Marmas (similar veins, anastomosis); twenty-seven Snáyu-Marmas (vital ligament-unions); eight Asthi-Marmas (bone-unions) and twenty Sandhi-Marmas (vulnerable joints). 3.

Their Locations

Of these, eleven are in one leg, thus making twenty-two in the two lower extremities The same number counts in the two hands. There are twelve Marmas in the regions of the chest and the abdomen (Udara); fourteen in the back; and thirty-seven in the region of the neck (Grivá) and above it. 4.

Names and distributions of Marmas:

- The Marmas which are situated in each leg are known as Kshipra, Tala-Hridaya, Kurchcha, Kurchcha-Sirah, Gulpha, Indravasti, Janu, Ani, Urvi, Lohitaksha and Vitapa. The twelve Marmas which are situated in the.

* Places where veins, arteries, ligaments, joints and muscles unite and an injury to which proves generally fatal.

thorax and the abdomen (Udara) are Guda (anus), Vasti (bladder) Nabhi (umbilicus), Hridaya (heart), Stanamula (the roots of two breasts), the Stana-Rohita, (muscles of the breasts) the two Apalaps and the two Apastambhas. The fourteen Marmas to be found in the back are the Katika-tarunas (Taruna-bones of the waist), the two Kukundaras, the two Nitamvas (hips), Párs'va-Sandhis (the two side-joints), the two Vrihatis, the two Ansa-phahkas (shoulder-blades) and the two Ansas (shoulders). The eleven Marmas to be found in an arm are known as the Kshipra, Tala-Hridaya, Kurchcha, Kurchcha-Sirah, Manivandha, Indravasti, Kurpara, Ani, Urvi, Lohitákshaand Kakshadhara. What is said of the one arm holds good of the other. The Marmas situated above the clavicle regions are known as the four Dhamanis, the eight Matrikas,thc two Krikatikás, the two Vidhuras, the two Phanas, the two Apángas, the two Avartas, the two Utkshepas, the two Sankhas, one Sthapani five Simantas, four Sringátakas and one Adhipati. 5 - 9.

The Different Heads Of Marmas

Of the aforesaid Marmas, those known as the Tala-Hridaya, Indravasti, Guda and Stana-rohita, are Mánsa-Marmas. Those known as Nila-dhamani, Mátrika, Sringátaka, Apánga, Sthapani, Phana, Stana-mula, Apálapa, Apastambha, Hridaya, Nábhi, Párs'va-Sandhi, Vrihati, Lohitakshaand Urvi, are Sirá-Marmas. Those known as the Ani, Vitapa, Kakshadhara, Kurchcha, Kurchcha-Sirah, Vasti, Kshipra, Ansas, (shoulders), Vidhura and Utkshepa, are Snáyu-Marmas. Those known as the Katika-taruna, Nitamva, Ansa-phalaka, Sankha, are Asthi-Marmas. The Jánu, the Kurpara, the Simanta, the Adhipati, the Gulpha, the Manivandha, the Kukundara, the Avarta and the Krikatika arc Saudhi-Marmas. 10 - 14.