I. A County Of Ireland

A County Of Ireland, in the province of Connaught, on the N. W. coast, bordering on Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo, and the Atlantic ocean; area, 721 sq. m.; pop. in 1871, 115,311. The chief towns are Sligo, Dromore, and Tobercurry. The coast line is generally rugged, and is deeply indented by the bays of Sligo and Killala. Sligo bay is about 6 m. wide at the mouth, and extends inland 10 m. to the town of Sligo. The principal rivers are the Sligo, Moy, Arrow, Awinmore, and Easky. Lough Gill, the chief lake, is about 5 m. long and 1½ broad, and is remarkable for the beauty of its scenery. A great deal of the surface is mountainous or boggy. Iron ore is found, and copper and lead mines were formerly worked. Coarse woollens are manufactured. There are many remains of antiquity.

II. A Town

A Town, capital of the county, at the head of an arm of the bay of the same name, 107 m. N. W. of Dublin; pop. in 1871, 9,340. It has considerable commerce, but vessels drawing more than 13 ft. are obliged to anchor a mile below the town. In 1870 Sligo was disfranchised as a parliamentary borough.