Thurgau, a N. E. canton of Switzerland, bounded N. and N. E. by the Rhine and the lake of Constance, separating it from Schaff-hausen, Baden, Wurtemberg, and Bavaria, S. E. and S. by the canton of St. Gall, and W. by Zurich; area, 382 sq. m.; pop. in 1870, 93,300, nearly all Germans, of whom 23,454 were Roman Catholics. The surface is comparatively level, but numerous hills traverse the country in different directions, the height of which nowhere exceeds 1,000 ft. above the lake of Constance. The principal river is the Thur, which flows N. W. and W. through Thurgau i and Zurich to the Rhine. The climate in the southwest is severe, but elsewhere temperate. The soil is not very productive. Fruit is extensively grown, and good wine is produced. About one fifth of the surface is covered with forest. Linen and cotton goods, ribbons, lace, hosiery, and canvas are manufactured. Numerous schools are established throughout the canton. The only language spoken is the German. The executive power is vested in a council (kleiner Rath) of seven, who hold office for six years. The grand council or legislature consists of one member for every 220 citizens. It is presided over by two Landammanns, chosen annually, and sends five members to the national council.

Capital, Frauenfeld.