Umbria, a country of ancient Italy, bounded N. by Cisalpine Gaul, E. and S. by the Adriatic, Picenum, and the territory of the Sabines, and W. by the Tiber, separating it from Etruria. Its principal cities were Ariminum (now Rimini), Pisaurum (Pesaro), Fanum Fortunae (Fano), Sena Gallica (Sinigaglia), Narnia (Narni), Iguvium (Gubbio), Fulginium (Foligno), and Spoletium (Spoleto). The N. E. part stretched out toward the coast in fertile plains. Besides the Tiber, the principal rivers were the Rubicon, Ariminus (Marecchia), Pisaurus (Foglia), Metaurus (Metauro), and Aesis (Esino), all flowing into the Adriatic, and the Nar (Nera), an affluent of the Tiber. The inhabitants, the Umbri, were one of the most ancient races of the peninsula, and at an early period became the most powerful people of central Italy. Etruria was originally in their possession. The Romans overcame them in 308 B. 0. The battle of Sentinum, 295 B. 0., when the Samnites, Gauls, Etruscans, and Umbrians were defeated by the Romans under Quintus Fabius, is sometimes called the battle of Umbria. - The name Umbria has been revived in modern times to designate a portion of what was formerly the Papal States, comprised chiefly in the delegations of Spoleto and Perugia. It constitutes now a province of the kingdom of Italy, also called Perugia. (See Perugia).