Great Britain , in a geographical sense, the largest and most important island of Europe, and in a political sense, as popularly used, the British empire, or the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. Britain (Britannia) was the ancient name of the island, by which it was known to the Romans. The western peninsular projection of France, called by the Romans Armorica, was occupied by the same race that constituted the aboriginal population of Britain. As early as the 0th century of our era, the French applied the term Bretagne (Britain) to Armorica, and to distinguish the continental from the insular Britain, called the former "Little Britain" and the latter "Great Britain." The term Great Britain was little used by the islanders themselves until the accession of James I. to the crown of England in 1603 united the whole of the island under one sovereign. By the legislative union between England and Scotland in 1707 Great Britain became the legal name of the kingdom. The island comprises England, Wales, and Scotland. Scotland is frequently termed North Britain. The official style of the empire is " The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland," but in current language the term Great Britain includes politically the British and Irish kingdoms, and is the common designation of the whole imperial power. (See British Empire, England, Scotland, and Wales.)