Holy Alliance , a league formed by the emperors Alexander I. of Russia and Francis of Austria, and King Frederick William III. of Prussia, Sept. 26, 1815, after the second abdication of Napoleon, and acceded to by the other principal powers of Europe, except Rome, England, and France. Its ostensible object was to regulate the states of Christendom on principles of Christian amity, but the real aim was to maintain the existing dynasties. Alexander himself drew up the agreement and gave to it its name. The three monarchs signed it at Paris, Sept. 26, 1815, but it was not wholly made public till Feb. 2, 1816, when it appeared in full in the "Frankfort Journal." A special article of the treaty excluded for ever the members of the Bonaparte family from all the thrones of Europe. It was in virtue of the holy alliance that Austria in 1821 suppressed the revolutions in Naples and Piedmont, and that France in .1823 restored absolutism in Spain. After Alexander's death the compact lost authority, and the French revolution of 1830 may be said to have ended it.