Indo-China, Or The Indo-Chinese Peninsula, the name given to the southeastern portion of Asia, bounded N. by Thibet and China, E. by the gulf of Tonquin and the China sea, S. and S. W. by the China sea, the gulf of Siam, the strait of Malacca, the gulf of Martaban, and the bay of Bengal, and N. W. by Hindostan; area, about 850,000 sq. m.; pop. about 25,000,-000. It is also designated as Further India, and as India beyond the Ganges. Andaman, Mergui, Nicobar, Prince of Wales, and other adjacent islands and groups belong to it. The political divisions of this region are: British Burmah, or Aracan, Pegu, and Tenasserim, comprising the W. coast and frontier land; Siam, in the centre, extending to the gulf of Siam, and including the Malay peninsula; Cambodia, and French or Lower Cochin China, on the S. extremity; Anam, including Tonquin and Cochin China, on the east; and Burmah in the northwest, surrounded by British Burmah, Siam, Anam, China, and Thibet. The Laos race, numbering about 1,500,000, occupy a large portion of the interior of Indo-China