Khuzistan (anc. Susiana), a province of Persia, bounded N. and N. E. by Luristan, S. E. by Fars, S. by the Persian gulf, and W. by the Turkish vilayet of Bagdad; area estimated at 39,000 sq. m.; pop. about 400,000. Its surface is hilly, the Bakhtiyari mountains rising on its N. E. frontier, and lesser eminences being scattered over the N. part of the province. In the south it is more level. The Shat-el-Arab (the united stream of the Tigris and Euphrates) forms part of its W. boundary. Several of the branches which form its delta empty into the Persian gulf through this province. The principal rivers which traverse the interior are the Kerkha (anc. Choaspes) and the Karun (anc. Eulaeus). Khuzistan contains extensive grazing lands on which vast herds are pastured, and produces rice, maize, barley, cotton, sugar cane, dates, and indigo. The silkworm is reared, and trade is carried on with Bagdad, Bassorah, and other places. Its principal towns are Shuster, Dizful, Ahwaz, and Mohammerah. The inhabitants are Tajiks, Sabian Christians, Lurs, Erdelans, and Arabs, all of whom except the Sabians are Mohammedans. The province contains the ruins of Susa, one of the ancient capitals of Persia. (See Elam, and Susiana.)