Lusatia (Ger. Lausitz), a region of Germany, which formerly constituted the two margravi-ates of Upper and Lower Lusatia, the former being the southern division. They were bounded N. by Brandenburg, E. by Silesia, S. by Bohemia, and W. by the duchy of Meissen; area about 4,200 sq. m., of which the southern part is mostly mountainous. The inhabitants are Germans and Wends, the latter descendants of the ancient Slavic Lusici and Milzieni, and speaking a peculiar Slavic dialect. Lusatia was made tributary to the German empire in the earlier part of the 10th century by Henry L, and finally subdued and converted to Christianity by his successor Otho I. Its possession, however, was for many centuries an object of contention between the princes of Poland, Bohemia, Brandenburg, and Meissen. In the latter part of the 15th century it submitted to Matthias Corvinus, king of Hungary. After his death it was reannexed to Bohemia, with which it became subject to Ferdinand I. of Hapsburg, brother of the emperor Charles V., in 1526. Having revolted during the thirty years' war against the sway of Ferdinand 11, it was subdued by John George, elector of Saxony, and ceded to him in 1635. By the treaty of Vienna of 1815 all Lower with a part of Upper Lusatia was ceded to Prussia, the former being annexed to the province of Brandenburg, and the latter to that of Silesia. The remaining part of Upper Lusatia forms the circle of Bautzen in Saxony. Gorlitz, Luckau, and Guben are among the principal towns of Prussian Lusatia; Bautzen, Zittau, and Ca-menz, among those of the Saxon division.