Argyll'shire, a county in the west of Scotland. Its greatest length is 115 miles; its greatest breadth, 55; and its extent of coast-line as much as 2289 miles, owing to the numerous sea-lochs. Next to Inverness, it is the largest county in Scotland, its area being 3213 sq. m., of which belong to the islands. The chief islands are Mull, Islay, Jura, Tyree, Coll, Lismore, and Colonsay, with lona and Staffa. The chief peaks are Bidean nam Bian (3766 feet) and Ben Cruachan (3689); the sea-lochs, Lochs Moidart, Sunart, Linnhe (branching off into Lochs Leven and Eil), Fyne, and Long; the streams are the Orchy and Awe; the fresh-water lakes are Lochs Awe and Lydoch. Lead occurs at Strontian (where the mineral Strontianite was discovered), at Tyn-drinn, and in Islay and Coll; roofing-slates in Easdale and Ballachulish; coal near Campbeltown; fine marble in Tyree, etc.; and excellent granite near Inveraray. The total percentage of cultivated area is only 57. Sheep and cattle rearing is the chief occupation. Whisky is manufactured in Campbeltown and Islay. Towns and villages are Inveraray, Campbeltown, Oban, Dunoon, Lochgilphead, Tarbert, and Tobermory. The county returns one parliament. Pop. (1331) 100,973; (1901) 65,849 - 34,428 Gaelic-speaking.