Berwickshire (Berrickshir), a Border county of south-east Scotland, bounded by Haddingtonshire, the German Ocean, Berwick-on-Tweed, Northumberland, Roxburghshire, and Midlothian. It extends from east to west 29 miles, from north to south 21 miles, and has an area of 464 sq. m., or 297,161 acres. Berwickshire is divided into three districts - the fertile Merse, the Lainmermoors, and Lauderdale. The coast, 19 miles in length, is rocky and bold, rising at St Abb's Head and other points to heights of from 177 to 528 feet above sea-level, and having only two bays, at Eyemouth and Coldingham. The Lammermoors, whose highest point in Berwickshire is Seenes Law (1683 feet), besides seventeen other summits exceeding 1240, consist of Silurian strata, stretching to St Abb's Head. The streams - Blackadder, Whitadder, and Leader Waters - are all tributaries of the Tweed, the Eye alone flowing direct to the sea. Pop. (1801) 30,206; (1841) 34,438; (1861) 36,613; (1901) 30,816. Berwickshire returns one member to parliament. Agriculturally, Berwickshire occupies a prominent position, 65.4 per cent. of the entire area being in cultivation, it has suffered proportionally from the recent agricultural depression. The Earlston ginghams excepted, there are no manufactures worth naming. The principal towns are Duns, Greenlaw, Lauder, Eyemouth, Coldstream, and Earlston. The county contains some very interesting examples, though on a comparatively small scale, of Norman or Pointed architecture, at Coldingham, Dryburgh, etc. There are also the remains or sites of Fast, Hume, and Cranshaws castles, and of British and Roman camps and barrows, besides remains of a curious broch-like structure at Edinshall, near Duns.