Calais (Fr. pron. Ka-lay), a port in the dep. of Pas-de-Calais, on the Strait of Dover, here 21 m. wide, by rail is 184 miles N. of Paris. It ranks as a fortress of the first class, the old walls, dividing it from its suburb, Saint Pierre, having been demolished since 1883, and their place supplied by a ring of exterior forts. The gate built by Richelieu in 1635, and immortalised by Hogarth, has disappeared; but the cardinal's citadel (1641) still stands on the west of the town. On the south and east are low marshy grounds, which could be submerged in the event of an invasion. A new harbour, comprising a tidal one of 15 acres and a wet-dock of 27, was opened in 1889. Calais is one of the chief ports of debarkation for travellers from England to France, and has steam communication thrice a day with Dover, with which since 1851 it has also been connected by submarine telegraph. With the air of a Flemish more than of a French town, Calais has not much to boast of in the way of objects of interest. The picturesque hotel-de-ville was rebuilt in 1750, and restored in 1867. The adjoining Tour de Guet (1214) served as a lighthouse till 1848; the present lighthouse is 190 feet high. A museum (1884) occupies the site of the Hotel Dessin, where Sterne lodged, and Scott, and Lady Hamilton. A handsome English church was built in 1862. The chief manufacture is tulle or bobbin-net, introduced by English from Nottingham in 1818. Pop. (1872) 39,700; (1901) 53,180. Till 997 a small fishing-village, Calais in 1347, after a twelvemonth's siege, was captured by Edward III. of England, and the self-devotion then shown by six of the citizens forms one of the noblest passages of history. The English retained it until 1558, when it was captured by the Duke of Guise, its garrison of 800 men holding it for a week against his 30,000.