Central Provinces, a chief-commissionership of India, near the centre of the peninsula, embracing 18 British districts and 15 native states. Area, 86,500 sq. m. British and 30,000 native; pop. 10,000,000 and 2,000,000 respectively. The surface is irregular, the plains being broken by ridges; in the north extend the Vindhyan and Satpura (2000 feet) tablelands, with the Nerbudda between; south of these stretches the great Nagpur plain, with the Chatisgarh plain to the east, and a wild forest-region beyond, reaching almost to the Godavari. The climate is hot and dry, except during the south-west monsoon (June - September), when 41 of the mean annual 45 inches of rain fall. Wheat, rice, oil-seeds, cotton, and tobacco are raised; the only manufactures of note are weaving and the smelting and working of iron ores. Of the population three-fourths are Hindus, and one-seventh aboriginal or non-Aryan tribes who still adhere to their primitive faiths. Only 6 per cent. reside in the 52 towns of above 5000 inhabitants, of which three - Nagpur, Jubbulpore, and Kampti - have over 50,000 inhabitants.