Denbighshire, a county of North Wales, on the Irish Sea, and between the Dee and the Conway. With 8 miles of coast, it is 41 miles long, 17 broad on an average, and 603 sq. m. in area. The surface is partly rugged and mountainous, with some beautiful and fertile vales, as that of Clwyd, 20 miles by 7. The highest mountain is Cader Fronwen, 2563 feet; and many others exceed 1500 feet. There occur coal, iron, slates, flags, millstones, limestone, lead, and copper. The chief rivers are the Dee, Conway. Elwy, and Clwyd. The Rhaiadr waterfall is 200 feet high in two parts. Llangollen vale is famed for romantic beauty and verdure, amid hills of savage grandeur. About two-thirds of Denbighshire is under cultivation; its corn, cheese, butter, and live-stock are greatly esteemed. It is also well timbered. Salmon are caught in the rivers. The towns are Denbigh, Wrexham, Ruthin, Holt, Llangollen, Llanrwst, Abergele, and Ruabon. Pop. (1801) 60,299; (1841) 88,478; (1901) 129,935. Denbighshire returns two members.