Mecklenburg (u as oo), the name of two grand-duchies of Germany, distinguished respectively as Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz, and bounded by the Baltic, Pomerania, Brandenburg, Sleswick-Holstein, and Lubeck. The former is a compact territory, abutting on the Baltic for 65 miles, its area being 5197 sq. m. (much less than Yorkshire). Mecklenburg-Strelitz (1144 sq. m.) consists of two detached portions, the grand-duchy of Strelitz, lying SE. of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, and the principality of Ratzeburg, wedged in between Schwerin and Lubeck. The region indicated forms part of the great North German plain, but is crossed by a low north-westward ridge. Along the line of this ridge there are more than 500 lakes. Except for some sandy tracts and turfy moors the soil is fertile ; agriculture is the chief occupation. The chief ports are Wismar and Rostock (Warne-iniinde). Pop of Schwerin (1875) 553,754 ; (1900) 607,770; of Strelitz (1875) 95,673; (1900) 102,602. The rural population are almost entirely Germanised Slavs, the nobility and the townsfolk for the most part of Saxon stock. The popular dialect is Platt-Deutsch or Low German ; the religious confession Lutheran. Society in Mecklenburg is still organised on a feudal basis; serfdom was abolished only in 1824. At the head of each grand-duchy stands a grand-duke; but both grand-duchies are represented in one and the same national assembly, which meets every autumn at Sternberg and Malchin alternately. The principality of Ratzeburg and the towns of Wismar and Neustrelitz have each an independent administration.