Rhodesia, named from Cecil Rhodes, founder of the British South Africa Company, is a vast region extending from the frontiers of the Transvaal and the 22d degree of south latitude to the southern limits of the Congo Free State, and from Portuguese West Africa on the west to Portuguese East Africa and the British Central Africa Protectorate on the east, and German East Africa on the north-east. The region, sometimes called Zambesia, is divided by the Zambesi into (unequal) southern and northern divisions. In 1889 a charter was given to the British South Africa Company, with large administrative powers, for the development of the region now known as Rhodesia. Subsequent orders-in-council in 1891, 1894, 1898, 1899, 1900, and 1903 further prescribed the company's powers, and appointed a Resident Commissioner to be nominated by the Secretary of State. Southern Rhodesia, which is much more fully developed than the northern portion, consists of the two provinces of Mashonaland and Matabeleland, and has an area of about 144,000 sq. m. and a native pop. of 565,000, besides about 12,600 Europeans and 2000 colonial natives and Asiatics. The seat of government is Salisbury (pop. 1726), the capital of Mashonaland. There are executive and legislative councils, a high court with civil and criminal jurisdiction, and magistrates' courts in the various districts, municipalities at Salisbury and Bulawayo (chief town of Matabeleland), with churches, banks, schools, hotels, public libraries, and telephones. There were in 1905 about 1900 miles of railway open, and the 'Cape to Cairo' line reached the Victoria Falls in 1904, and is being continued across Northern Rhodesia to Lake Tanganyika. There are about 300 registered companies interested in mining and development work in the territory. The output of gold In 1904 was 267,737 oz. Other minerals are silver, copper, blende, antimony, arsenic, lead, and coal. The imports into Southern Rhodesia in 1904 were valued at 1,576,619, and the exports, excluding goods to Customs Union Territories (which it joined in 1903), to 334,717. Northern Rhodesia (subdivided into North-eastern and North-western Rhodesia) is still practically held by the natives. Barotseland (North - western Rhodesia) is ruled by King Lewanika. Northeastern Rhodesia is divided into nine districts, Fort Jameson on the Tanganyika plateau being the administrative headquarters. Ivory and rubber are exported, and cotton is being grown with success. The area of North-eastern Rhodesia is about 120,000 sq. m., and the native pop. is estimated at about 350,000, with 250 Europeans, mostly British. Postal and telegraph services have been organised. The capital of the British South Africa Company is 6,000,000, and the administrative revenue for the whole region, from mining, trading, and professional licenses, hut tax, customs, and postal and telegraph services, amounted in 1903 to 633,038, and the expenditure to 1,051,400.