In most of the states there exists a homestead law which exempts certain real property from liability of attachment by the creditors of the owner. Certain personal property is also exempt, and in most cases wages are exempt for a specified period. The following is approximately the law in the several states and territories:Alabama. - Homestead to the value of $2000 or 160 acres of land not exceeding $2000 in value. Personal property to the value of $1000 and $25 wages.

Alaska

No homestead law. Specified articles of Personal property worth from $750 to $1000, and wages for thirty days preceding judgment.

Arizona

Homestead to the value of $4000 if claim is recorded. Personal property to the value of $1000 Wages earned for thirty days preceding levy.

Arkansas

Homestead of 160 acres in country or one-quarter acre in town or village, not exceeding in value $2500. Personal property including wages for sixty days to the amount of $500 for the head of a family and $200 for a single person.

California

Homestead to the value of $5000. Certain specified articles of personal property not to exceed $1000. Wages for thirty days if necessary to support family, but one half of wages is liable for debts contracted for necessaries.

Colorado

Homestead to the value of $2000 if claim is recorded. Certain specified articles of personal property, including library and instruments of professional men. Sixty per cent of any amount of wages due.

Connecticut

Homestead to amount of $1,000 if claimis is recorded. Certain specified articles of personal property and wages to the amount of $50.

Delaware

No homestead exemption, and each county has a special law as to exemption of personal property.

District Of Columbia

Specified articles of personal property not exceeding $1000. Wages for two months not to exceed $200 and the salary of all government employees.

Florida

Homestead consisting of 160 acres in country or one half acre in town. Personal property to the value of $1000 for the head of a family residing in the state, and all wages.

Georgia

Constitution of the state provides a homestead exemption of $1600, either real or personal property, and the statutes allow fifty acres of land and five acres additional for every child under sixteen years of age. Certain specified articles of personal property and all laborers' wages.

Idaho

Homestead to the value of $5000 for a married man and $1000 for a single man, but declaration of homestead must be filed. Specified articles of personal property to the value of $1000 and wages for thirty days.

Illinois

Homestead to value of $1000. Personal property, $400 for married persons, $100 for single persons. Wages to the amount of $15 weekly for the head of a family.

Indiana

$600 worth of either real or personal property is allowed as exemption to householders and married women residents of the state. One month's wages not to exceed $25.

Indian Territory

Homestead worth $2500, but not to exceed 160 acres if in the country. Personal property and wages for sixty days, not to exceed $500 for married persons and $200 for single persons.

Iowa

Homestead one half acre in town or forty acres in country. Specified articles of personal property not to exceed $200 and wages for ninety days.

Kansas

Homestead one acre in town and 160 acres in country. Specified articles of personal property and wages for three months preceding levy.

Kentucky

Homestead to the value of $1000. Specified articles of personal property and wages to the amount of $50.

Louisiana

Homestead to the value of $2000. Specified articles of personal property and all laborers' wages.

Maine

Homestead to the value of $500 if recorded. Specified articles of personal property. Wages to the value of $20 except in suit for necessaries and then $10.

Maryland

$100 worth of personal property and wages to the amount of $100.

Massachusetts

Homestead to the value of $800 if recorded. Specified articles of personal property and wages to the amount of $20 except in suit for necessaries, and then $10.

Michigan

Homestead to the value of $1500. Specified articles of personal property and goods to the value of $250. Eighty per cent of the wages of a householder not to exceed $30, others forty per cent up to $15.

Minnesota

Homestead consisting of a city lot or one half acre in a town or eighty acres in the country, not allowed to a single man unless he resides on the property. Specified articles of personal property amounting to about $1500 and wages to the amount of $25.

Mississippi

Homestead to the value of $2000, but not over 160 acres if in the country. Personal property consisting of certain articles in the country, and to the value of $250 in towns. Wages of $100 per month to head of family, $20 to others.

Missouri

Homestead to the value of $3000 in cities and $1500 in country and towns. Personal property consisting of certain specified articles not to exceed in value $300, including ninety per cent of wages.

Montana

Homestead to the value of $2500. Specified articles of personal property and wages for thirty days.

Nebraska

Homestead to the value of $2000. Personal property not exceeding $500, but not in addition to homestead, and wages for sixty days.

Nevada

Homestead to the value of $5000 Specified articles of personal property and wages not to exceed $50 earned in month process is issued.

New Hampshire

Homestead to the value of $500. Certain specified articles of personal property and wages to the amount of $20 except as against debts for necessaries.

New Jersey

Homestead to the value of $1000 if advertised and recorded according to law. Personal property to the amount of $200 and wearing apparel, also all wages.

New Mexico

Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles and $500 when party does not own homestead. Wages for three months, except in certain specific cases.

New York- Homestead to the value of $1000 if notice is recorded. Certain specific articles to the head of a family, and personal property in addition to the value of $250, except for purchase price. Wages for sixty days if necessary for the support of the family.

North Carolina

Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property to the value of $500, and sixty days' wages if necessary for the support of the family.

North Dakota

Homestead to the value of $5000. Personal property to the value of $1000 to the head of the family residing in the state. Wages not exempt.

Ohio

Homestead to the value of $1000. Certain specific articles of personal property. Wages for three months if necessary for the support of the family.

Oklahoma

Homestead consisting of 160 acres in the country, or one acre in city or town. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles. Wages for ninety days to the head of a family.

Oregon

Homestead to the value of $1500, not to be less than twenty acres in the country or one lot in city or town. Personal property consisting of certain specific articles, and wages for thirty days if necessary for the support of the family.

Pennsylvania

Real or personal property to the value of $300, and all wages.

Rhode Island

Household furniture to the value of $300, tools and books to the value of $300, and library of professional men. Wages to the amount of $10, except as against debts for necessaries.

South Carolina

Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property to the value of $500. Wages for sixty days if there is a family depending on them for support.

South Dakota

Homestead consisting of 160 acres in the country or one acre in city or town, to the value of $5000. Personal property to the value of $750, to the head of a family, and $300 to a single person not the head of a family. No exemptions against purchase price. Wages for sixty days if necessary for support of family.

Tennessee

Homestead to the value of $1000. Certain specific articles of personal property. $30 in wages.

Texas

Homestead consisting of 200 acres in country, or city lot to the value of $5000. Certain specific articles of personal property. Current wages for personal services.

Utah

Homestead to the value of $1500, and $500 additional for wife and $250 for each child. Certain specific articles of personal property not exceeding $1000, and one half of wages for thirty days, but not to be less than $30.

Vermont

Homestead to the value of $500. Certain specific articles of personal property, and wages to the amount of $10.

Virginia

Homestead to the value of $2000. Certain specific articles of personal property and one month's wages, not to exceed $50.

Washington

Homestead to the value of $2000 if declaration is filed. Certain specific articles of personal property, and in the case of a householder $1000 in addition. Wages to the amount of $100 if family is dependent thereon.

West Virginia

Homestead to the value of $1000. Personal property, including wages, to the amount of $200.

Wisconsin

Homestead consisting of one fourth acre in town or forty acres in the country. Certain specific articles of personal property, not to exceed $200 in value. Wages for three months, not exceeding $60 a month.

Wyoming

Homestead to the value of $1500. Personal property to the value of $800 for a married man, and $300 for a single man. Wages not to exceed $100.