svn delete — Delete an item from a working copy or the repository.
Items specified by
scheduled for deletion upon the next commit. Files (and
directories that have not been committed) are immediately
removed from the working copy unless the
--keep-local option is given. The
command will not remove any unversioned or modified items;
--force option to override this
Items specified by URL are deleted from the repository via an immediate commit. Multiple URLs are committed atomically.
--force --force-log --message (-m) TEXT --file (-F) FILE --quiet (-q) --targets FILENAME --with-revprop ARG --keep-local --username USER --password PASS --no-auth-cache --non-interactive --editor-cmd EDITOR --encoding ENC --config-dir DIR
Using svn to delete a file from your working copy deletes your local copy of the file, but merely schedules it to be deleted from the repository. When you commit, the file is deleted in the repository.
$ svn delete myfile D myfile $ svn commit -m "Deleted file 'myfile'." Deleting myfile Transmitting file data . Committed revision 14.
Deleting a URL, however, is immediate, so you have to supply a log message:
$ svn delete -m "Deleting file 'yourfile'" file:///var/svn/repos/test/yourfile Committed revision 15.
Here's an example of how to force deletion of a file that has local mods:
$ svn delete over-there svn: Attempting restricted operation for modified resource svn: Use --force to override this restriction svn: 'over-there' has local modifications $ svn delete --force over-there D over-there