Georgia, the last of the thirteen original colonies, was settled in 1732, under a grant made to James Oglethorpe. The purpose of the colony was to furnish a refuge to debtors, prisoners, and paupers. Georgia became a royal province in 1752. Her first legislative assembly was created in 1755. Georgia played a very minor part both in colonial history and in the Revolutionary War on account of her position and of her small population.