These are four in number, two situated in each nasal passage, where they are attached to the outer walls one above the other. They are long, thin, fragile plates of bone, folded upon themselves into rolls, which extend nearly from one extremity of the nose to the other. They are covered with mucous membrane, and afford a large surface for the distribution of the nerves of smell (olfactory nerves), and for the secretion of mucus.