Rumelia, Or Romania Roumelia (Turk. Ru-mili, Roman land), the name formerly applied by the Turks to the largest of their European provinces, comprising their most important possessions in Greece and N. of it as far as the northern ridges of the Balkan, and subsequently applied by them to a territory comprising portions of Albania and Macedonia (capital, Monastir or Bitolia), now embraced in the vilayets of Prisrend and Salonica. By occidental writers the name is generally used to designate the provinces known to the ancients as Macedonia and Thrace, and in a more limited sense to Thrace alone. In this limited sense Roumelia is bounded N. by the Balkan, E. by the Black sea, S. E. and S. by the Bosporus, the sea of Marmora, and the Grecian archipelago, and W. by the range of the Despoto Dagh; it is watered by the Marit-za and its affluents the Tundja and Erkeneh, and contains among others the cities of Constantinople, Adrianople, Philippopoli, Rodos-to, Gallipoli, and Enos. This country, corresponding to the modern vilayet of Adrianople or Edirneh, which, however, does not embrace Constantinople and the adjoining territory, is the most important portion of the Turkish empire in Europe, although it is principally occupied by Bulgarians and Greeks, and the number of Ottomans is comparatively small. (See Thrace.) .