Table Of Exemption Laws. 1 (Property or income exempt from seizure for debt.)

State

Homestead Exempt

Personal Property Exempt

Wages Exempt

Alabama

$2000

$1000

$25 mo.

Arizona

4000

1/2 30 d's. wg.

Arkansas

2500

500

60 d's. wg.

California

5000

30 d's. wg.

Colorado

2000

60%

Connecticut

1000

$50

Delaware

200

50%

District of Coulmbia

300

Florida...................

160 acres2

1000

All.

Georgia...................

1600

Idaho

5000

Illinois

1000

400

$15 per wk.

Indiana

600

600

Iowa

40 acres2

All; 3 mo.

Kansas

160 acres2

All; 3 mo.

Kentuky

1000

Louisiana

2000

Maine

500

Maryland.................

100

$100

Massachusetts

800

Michigan

1500

Minnesota

80 acres2

$25 last 30 ds.

Mississippi................

3000

$50 per mo.

Missouri

1500

All;30ds.

Montana

2500

Nebraska

2000

500

90%

Nevada

5000

New Hampshire...........

500

$20

1Accuracy, on account of brevity, is not possible in a table of this sort. General accuracy has been attempted, but is not for the reason stated guaranteed. 2Farm land; smaller amount in towns. ♦Specific articles exempt without regard to value.

State

Homestead Exempt

Personal Property Exempt

Wages Exempt

New Jersey

1000

200

New Mexico

1000

New York

1000

250

60 ds.

North Carolina

1000

500

North Dakota

5000

Ohio.....................

1000

500

All; 3 mo.

Oklahoma

5000

75%;90ds.

Oregon

3000

$75

Pennsylvania

300

Rhode Island

$10 per wk.

South Carolina

1000

500

South Dakota

5000

750

Tennessee

1000

$30

Texas

5000

All.

Utah.....................

2000

$30

Vermont

500

200

Virginia

2000

$50 per mo.

Washington

2000

1500

All; 60 ds.

West Virginia

1000

200

Wisconsin

5000

Wyoming.................

2500

1/2 60 ds. wg.

*See footnote page 255.