I. A Central Government Of Siberia

A Central Government Of Siberia, in the political division of East Siberia, bounded N. by the Arctic ocean, E. by Yakutsk and Irkutsk, S. by the Chinese empire, and W. by Tomsk, Tobolsk, and the gulf of Obi; area, 992,838 sq. m.; pop. in 1870, 372,862. Capital, Krasnoyarsk. The sea coast projects far into the Arctic ocean, terminating in Tcheliuskin or Northeast cape, the northernmost point of Asia, in lat. 77° 50' N., Ion. 105° E. From the Altai mountains in the south the surface slopes gradually toward the north. Besides the Yenisei and its tributaries, the only rivers of importance are the Anabara and Khatanga in the northeast, which flow directly into the Arctic ocean, and the Taz, which enters the gulf of Obi through the estuary or bay of Tazovsk. There are several lakes, the largest of which are Taimyr in the Taimyr peninsula and Yesei near the head waters of the Khatanga river. Some parts of the south are well wooded. Iron ore and salt are found in large quantities, and between the Yenisei and Angara is one of the richest gold-washing tracts in Siberia. Grain can be produced only in the valleys of the south. In the north many reindeer feed upon lichens; and about the centre of the government there is good pasture land, upon which large herds of cattle are kept.

Game is abundant, particularly the fur-bearing animals. The population is composed of different aboriginal tribes, and some Cossacks and Russians, the latter being chiefly convicts.

II. A Town Of The Above Government

A Town Of The Above Government, on the left bank of the Yenisei, about 290 m. E. K E. of Tomsk; pop. about 7,000. It has several churches, a monastery, and a nunnery, and is surrounded by an old rampart. It has an annual fair, and a considerable trade in furs. The town was founded in 1618.