Cleves (Ger. Kleve or Cleve), a town of Rhenish Prussia, in the district and 48 m. N. W. of the city of Diisseldorf, about 4 m. from the Dutch frontier and the Rhine; pop. in 1871, 9,038. It is built upon three gently sloping hills, in a fertile region with extensive valleys and woodlands, which in the 17th century were converted into pleasure grounds by Prince John Maurice of Nassau-Siegen, whose iron tomb is near the town. The mineral spring in the Thiergarten was restored in 1846, and a drinking hall and bath house were added in 1847. The castle of Schwancnburg, the former ducal residence, and the birthplace of Anne of Cleves, the fourth wife of Henry VIII. of England, is famous for its picturesque tower, said to have been built by Cassar. It is now used as a prison and for public offices. Among the other public buildings are the Prinzenhof, belonging to the princess of Waldeck; a Roman Catholic church, with monuments of the counts of Cleves; and places of worship for Protestants, Mennonites, and Jews. There are several schools and a gymnasium, and a monument of the elector of Brandenburg, John Sigismund, by Bayerle. It is connected with the Rhine by a canal, and by railway with other parts of Germany and with Holland. There are manufactories of cotton, leather, and tobacco. - Cleves was formerly the capital of a county, and subsequently of a duchy, which formed part of the Westphahan circle of the German empire, and in 1609 fell to Brandenburg, with the exception of a portion annexed to Neuburg. By the treaty of Luneville (1801) a part of the duchy was ceded to France, and a part was in 180G incorporated with the grand duchy of Berg. In 1815 the whole was restored to Prussia, except some districts on the Maas, and a few villages which were claimed by Holland.