Comoro Isles, Or Comoros, a group of high volcanic islands in the Mozambique channel, between Africa and the N. W. coast of Madagascar, consisting of the islands of Angaziya or Great Comoro, Anzooan or Johanna, Mayotta, and Mohilla, lying between lat. 11° and 13° S., and lon. 43° and 45° 30' E.; area, 1,050 sq. m.; pop. estimated at from 50,000 to 80,000. They are fertile in most of the productions of the tropics. The rivers abound in fish, and vast herds of cattle range the meatdows. Cocoa-nuts, cocoanut oil, and tortoise shell are the chief exports. Sugar has recently been cultivated with success, and now forms an article of export. The inhabitants are Arabs and negroes, who generally profess Mohammedanism, but fetishism is practised to some extent. Coarse cloths, jewelry, and firearms are manufactured. The Comoros are governed by sultans, one of whom resides in nearly every town. The island of Mayotta was ceded to France in 1841, and the cession was confirmed in 1845. Comoro, the largest island, is 30 m. long and 12 m. broad. It has a large town on the E. side, but is seldom visited by Europeans, and contains no spring water.

The drink of the inhabitants is the milk of the cocoanut.