Roman Division Of Time.

Romulus is said to have divided the year into ten months, beginning with March; Numa added the other two months. When Julius Caesar became master of the State, he adjusted the year according to the course of the sun, and assigned to each month the number of days which it still contains. This is the famous Julian Tear which continues in use to this day in all Christian countries, without any variation, except that of the Old and New Style, occasioned by Pope Gregory, A. d. 1582.

The Romans divided their months into three parts, by Calends, Ides, and Nones. The 1st day was called the Calends, the 5th day the Nones, and the 13th the Ides; except in. March, May, July, and October, when the Nones fell on the 7th, and the Ides on the loth.

The custom of dividing time into weeks wag introduced under the Emperors, being derived from the Egyptians; and the days of the week were named from the planets, viz.:Dies Solis Sunday

Lunae Monday

Martis Tuesday

Mercurii Wednesday

Jovis Thursday

Veneris Friday

Saturni Saturday.

In marking the days, they counted backwards; thus they called the last day of December, Pridie Calendas Januarii, or the day before the Calends of January: the 30th day they called the 3rd day before the Calends of January; and so on through the year.

In leap-year the 24th and 25th days of February were both called the 6th day before the Calends of March, and hence this year is called Bissextilis.

The day, as with us, was divided into 12 hours, and lasted from six o'clock in the morning till six in the evening. The night was divided into four watches, each consisting of three hours.

The Romans had no clocks or watches, and the first dial is said to have been erected in Rome so late as 447 years after the building of the city.

Tables of Weights and Measures mentioned in Scripture.

Roman Division Of Time 471