The first annual meeting of this Society was held at the Court House in the city of Auburn, on the 9th of February, and the following officers were chosen for the ensuing year:



Vice Presidents

P. R. Freeoff, Geo. E. Barber, Oliver W. Wheeler, Auburn; John Morse, Aurelius.

Corresponding Secretary

Horace T. Cook, Auburn.

Recording Secretary

S. S. Graves, Auburn.


John S. Clary, Auburn.


Wm. Osborn, L. Q. Sherwood, H. H. Bostwick, A V. Pulsifer, We Cutting, Auburn; S. H. Higley, W. D. Osborn, Mentz; John R. Page, Sennett; Solomon Goes, Weedsport.

Auburn is one of those quiet, pretty towns, in the midst of a fertile and beautiful region of country, where horticulture may be expected to receive a large share of attention. There are many good gardens there now, and a large number of zealous and tasteful amateurs, who will ensure success to the Cayuga Society.