Principality Of Orange, formerly an independent seigniory of S. E. France, 12 m. long by 9 broad, now included in the department of Vaucluse. Its origin is traced to the time of Charlemagne, and it was held in succession by four houses: 1, that of Giraud-Adhémar, which became extinct in 1174; 2, that of Baux, which ruled it till 1393; 3, that of Chalons, which ended in 1530 with the celebrated Phili-bert, one of the greatest generals of the age; 4, that of Nassau-Dillenburg, which acquired full possession in 1570, and kept it until the death of William III., king of England, without issue, in 1702. Many competitors claimed the vacant estate, Frederick I. of Prussia and Prince John William Friso of Nassau-Dietz being the foremost. Each of the several pretenders assumed the title of prince of Orange; but after a protracted contest the principality was ceded to France by the treaty of Utrecht (1713), and has since been a part of that country. The princes of Nassau-Dietz nevertheless were al-lowed to style themselves princes of Orange, and since their accession to the throne of Holland that title is given to the heir apparent.