Vosges, a N. E. department of France, formed from the S. portion of the ancient province of Lorraine, bordering on Meurtheet-Moselle, Haute-Marne, Haute-Sa6ne, and Alsace-Lorraine; area, 2,266 sq. m.; pop. in 1872, 392,988. It has the Vosges mountains on the east and the Faucilles in the south, and is drained by the Moselle, Meurthe, Meuse, and Saōne. The climate is temperate in the lowlands and cold in the mountains. The soil in the valleys is fertile. The principal crops are potatoes, hops, flax, hay, and fruits. Many medicinal plants are cultivated. In the mountains are forests of oak, ash, etc. There are manufactures of iron and steel, cutlery, and paper. The exports are principally timber, pork, and cheese. The canton of Schirmeck, containing 12 communes, and six other communes, with an aggregate population of 21,voss 017, were annexed in 1871 to Germany. The department is divided into the arrondissements of Epinal, Mirecourt, Neufchateau, Remiremont, and St. Die. Capital, Epinal.