Lippe, Or Lippe-Detmold, a German principality, bounded N. E. by the Prussian province of Hesse-Nassau, E. by the province of Hanover and by Waldeck, and on all other sides by Westphalia; area, 437 sq. m.; pop. in 1871, 111,135, of whom 2,638 were Roman Catholics, 1,035 Jews, and all the others Protestants, mostly Reformed. It is traversed by chains of the Teutoburg mountains, called here Lippe'scher Wald, and drained by the Werre and other small tributaries of the We-ser. The staple productions are flax and timber. The principality comprises the counties of Lippe, Schwalenberg, and Sternberg, and several Westphalian places. The principal towns are Detmold, the capital, and Lemgo. - In 1815 the principality became one of the states of the German confederation; in 1866 it joined the North German confederation; and since the beginning of 1871 it has formed part of the German empire. In 1848 a new constitution was promulgated, but the former and less liberal one was restored in 1853. The diet consists of only one chamber, numbering 21 deputies, 7 of whom are chosen by the nobility and 14 by the towns and rural communities.

The revenue in 1871 amounted to $189,000, the expenditures to $186,000; the public debt in 1872 was $304,000. In virtue of a special military treaty with Prussia, the military force has been incorporated with the Prussian army