Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach, a grand duchy of the German empire, composed of the principalities of Weimar and Eisenach, which are separated by Prussian Saxony and Coburg-Gotha, and of the district of Neustadt, separated from Weimar by Altenburg, and 12 smaller portions; area, 1,404 sq. m.; pop. in 1871, 286,183, of whom 9,404 were Roman Catholics, 1,120 Jews, and the rest Protestants. It has a diversified surface, being broken by branches of the Thuringian Forest and the Hohe Rhön, and is watered by the Saale, Ilm, Gera, Werra, Nesse, and Ulster. A large portion of the soil is adapted to agriculture, and produces grain, flax, and hemp; but the principal staple is wool. The reigning grand duke is Charles Alexander (born June 24, 1818), who succeeded his father in 1853. It has one vote in the federal council, and sends three deputies to the Reichstag. The local legislature or diet consists of one chamber with 31 members. The chief towns are Weimar, the capital, Jena, Apolda, Neustadt, and Weida.