Tipperary, a S. county of Ireland, in the province of Munster, bordering on the counties of Galway, King's, Queen's, Kilkenny, Waterford, Cork, Limerick, and Clare; area, 1,639 sq. m.; pop. in 1871, 216,210. In the N. part a range of mountains extends completely across from the Shannon to King's county, and there are several groups in other parts of the county, the highest of which does not exceed 2,500 ft. above the sea. The principal rivers are the Shannon, which flows along the W. boundary, and the Suir, which intersects it and partly bounds it on the south. A portion of Lough Derg is in Tipperary. The soil of the level country is a rich loam of great fertility. Butter is largely exported. Coal, copper, lead, and slates are found. It is divided into the North and South ridings, of which the chief towns are Nenagh and Clonmel. The town of Tipperary, on the Arra, an affluent of the Suir, has a large trade in agricultural produce; pop. in 1871, 5,638. Carrick-on-Suir and Cashel are also in the county.