I. A S. W. province of Spain, forming the W. extremity of Andalusia, bordering on Portugal, the Atlantic, and the provinces of Cadiz, Seville, and Badajoz; area, 4,118 sq. m.; pop. in 1870, 196,469. The larger portion of the province is a picturesque mountain land, being traversed by a continuation of the Sierra Morena, known as the Sierra de Aroche. It is but little cultivated and thinly peopled. It has mines of copper, iron, lead, and coal, salt works, and mineral springs. The copper mines on the Rio Tinto are celebrated. The chief rivers are the Guadiana, which forms part of its western frontier, and the Tinto. The principal towns, besides the capital, are Moguer, Ayamonte, Cartaya, La Palma, Valverde del Camino, and Aracena. II. A town, capital of the province, situated on a peninsula between the mouths of the Tinto and the Odiel, 50 m. W. S. W. of Seville; pop. about 10,000. It has broad, clean streets, two churches, two hospitals, a high school, a theatre, barracks, a beautiful promenade, and an ancient aqueduct.

Copper is largely exported, and there is a brisk coasting trade with Cadiz and Seville. It is the site of the ancient Onoba, of which considerable remains exist.