Legal Holidays. - January 1st; February 22d; May 30th; July 4th; General Election day; Thanksgiving Day; December 25th.

Interest. - Seven per cent is the legal rate, though any rate can be made by contract.

Statue of Limitation. - Open accounts, two years; Notes, four years; Judgments, five years.

Garnishments. - One month's wages is exempt from garnishment to the head of a family.

Justices' Court. - Jurisdiction is limited to $299.99.

Chattel Mortgage - Is not valid on stock of merchandise, unless mortgagee takes immediate possession.

Qualification of Voters. - Must be a citizen of the United States either by birth, naturalization or treaty of Queretaro; have resided one year in the State, ninety days in the County, and thirty days in the Precinct.

Area of California. - There are 157,801 square miles or 100,992,640 acres in the State, being over 100 acres for every man, woman and child.

Land Offices. - There are nine United States land offices in the State located as follows : At Humboldt, Los Angeles, Marysville, Sacramento, Redding, Stockton, San Francisco, Susanville and Visalia.

Filing Claims. - Against estate of deceased person within four months, unless the estate exceeds $10,000, when ten months is allowed.

With Assignee, no special time, but should be within three months.

Exemptions under Homestead Law. - Home worth $5,000 to head of family, together with numerous and specific articles, including household goods, implements, tools, horses and wagons, provisions, library of professionals, stock, etc., irrespective of value, besides mining tools to the value of $500; cabin, $500; and mining claim actually being worked, $500. A single man has personal property exemptions from $500 to $1,000.

Marriage Law. - Prohibited degrees are, ancestors, descendants, brothers, sisters, nephews and nieces; void marriages: the above, and also white with negro blood. Voidable : under age of consent, if no cohabitation since attaining such age; insane or idiot; physical incapacity. License is required. Male attains age at twenty-one and female at eighteen.

Divorce Law. - Six months previous residence required. Cause: violation of marriage vow; willful desertion one year; habitual drunkenness; conviction of felony; cruel and abusive treatment; failure by the husband to provide for one year.

Salaries Of California State Officers

Rank Per Annum

Governor.......................................................$6,000

Lieutenant-Governor...............$10 per day during Session

Legislators, both houses............. $8 " " " "

Secretary of State............................................. 3,000

Controller................................................. 3,000

Attorney-General.......................................... 3,000

Clerk of Supreme Court..................................... 3,000

Surveyor-General........................................... 3,000

Adjutant-General........................................... 3,000

Superintendent of State Printing.............................2,400

State Librarian............................................. 3,000

Treasurer.................................................. 3,000

Superintendent of Public Instruction......................... 3,000

Mechanics' Lien Law Of California

Condensed from "Statutes and Code of California." Edition of 1886 with amendments of 1887.

Mechanics, material men, contractors, sub-contractors, artisans, architects, machinists, builders, laborers, etc., performing labor upon or furnishing materials to be used in the construction or alteration of any building or other structure, shall have a lien upon such property for the value of labor done or materials furnished. Said lien shall extend to the entire contract price and shall operate in favor of all persons, except the contractor; after all other liens are satisfied then as a lien for balance due the contractor. All contracts over $1,000 shall be in writing, duly signed, shall describe the property and character of work to be done and the amount to be paid, as also when such payments shall be due. Before beginning, this shall be filed with the County Recorder, otherwise it will be void. In such case the owner of the building or structure is responsible for all liens for labor or material.

No part of the contract work shall be paid in advance; but it may be made payable in installments after the commencement, provided that at least 25 per cent is made payable at least 35 days after completion.

No payments paid in advance, under the contract, shall be valid for the purpose of defeating a lien, except that of the contractor, even though the contractor may afterwards abandon the work or become indebted to the owner. No alterations of contract will affect any lien acquired. If contracts or alterations do not conform to the statutes, the owner will be responsible for all liens except those of the contractor. Any of the parties mentioned above except the contractor, may at any time notify the owner, in writing, that they have performed labor or furnished materials to the contractor or others acting for him; they should name the parties, state the kind of labor or material furnished, the value of same and of the whole agreed to be done or furnished. Care should be taken that the owner, his architects, or authorized agents receive such notice. Upon receipt of such notice the owner or his agents shall withhold from the contractor or his agents sufficient money to answer such claim, or any lien that may be filed therefor for record, including counsel fees, not to exceed .$100 and costs.

If the land built upon belongs to the party building, said land is also subject to the lien.

Liens here mentioned are preferred to any lien, mortgage or incumbrance, attached subsequent to the commencement of the building or improvements; also of any lien, mortgage or incumbrance unrecorded at the time of such commencement.

A contractor must, within sixty days after completion of contract, and other parties within thirty days of such completion, file for record with the County Recorder, a claim under oath, containing a statement of his demand, giving all the facts in the case.

When one claim is filed against two or more buildings or structures, such claim must state the amount due on each of said buildings, or structures; otherwise the lien of such claim is postponed to other liens.

A lien does does not extend beyond the amount designated, as against other liens. A lien expires after ninety days unless proceedings be commenced in a proper court within that time. If credit be given, then ninety days after such credit is due; and no agreement of credit can extend it beyond two years.

A lien can be laid against a city lot that has been improved at the request of the owner.

An owner of land is responsible for all buildings erected or alterations made on his property unless he shall, within three days after acquiring such knowledge, give notice in writing, that he will not be responsible for the same.

A contractor can only recover amount due him according to contract, and he is also responsible for all liens filed for labor and material.

Where different liens are laid against property, those for manual labor come first; for furnishing materials, second; sub-contractors, third; original contractors, last.

Any number of persons claiming liens may join in the same action.

Material furnished for the construction or alteration of a building or structure are not subject to attachment, etc., except on a debt due for purchase money of same.

An owner or contractor cannot waive or impair the liens of other persons, except by their written consent.

Any person who shall give a false notice of his claim to the owner, or who includes work or materials not done or furnished, will forfeit his lien. If the owner or contractor shall conspire or agree that the written contract filed shall appear to show the contract price to be less than it really is, and it shall so show, such contract will be void, and the owner will be responsible for all liens except those of the contractor.