Meuse (anc. Mosa; Dutch, Maas; Flem. Maese), a river which rises in the department of Haute-Marne in France, and, flowing mainly N. through Vosges, Meuse, and Ardennes, enters Belgium near Charlemont. From Na-mur it flows N. E. till near its entrance into Holland, when again it bends N., then flows N. W., and finally W. A little below Gorkum it divides into two branches, one of which takes the name of Merwede, and, after again dividing and forming with its arms the island of Ysselmonde, falls into the North sea amid shoals and quicksands; while the other branch, which flows more to the south, and likewise subdivides into two smaller streams, discharges its waters by these channels into different parts of the same sea. The delta of the Meuse is larger than that of any other European river. Its principal tributaries are: in France, the Mouzon and the Chiers; in Belgium, the Lesse, the Sambre, and the Ourthe; in Holland, the Waal, the Leek, and the western Yssel. The chief cities on its banks are Verdun, Sedan, Mezieres, and Charlemont, in France; Naniur and Liege, in Belgium; Maastricht, Venloo, Dort, and Rotterdam, in Holland. The river is over 550 m. long, and it is navigable to Verdun, 430 m. from the sea.