Santa Cruz (Krooz), also called Sainte Croix, one of the Virgin Islands, with an area of 74 sq. m. and a pop. (1890) of 21,000. Sugar, rum, and cotton are produced; the capital is Christianstadt (pop. 5500). Discovered by Columbus on his first voyage, the island was held by Dutch, English, Spanish, French, and the Knights of Malta, and was bought by Denmark in 1733. - (2) Or Nitendi, the largest (area, 216 sq. m.) of a group of Mela-nesian islands, sometimes called Queen Charlotte Islands, east of the Solomon archipelago and 100 miles N. of the New Hebrides. Bishop Patteson was murdered on Nukapu, one of the smaller isles. - (3) Or Tenerife, the capital and chief seaport of the Canary Islands (q.v.), on the NE. side of the island of Tenerife. It is the seat of a bishop. Santa Cruz is much resorted to by steamers for re-coaling. - (4) Santa Cruz de la Palma is the capital of Palma, another of the Canary Islands (q.v.). Pop. 7617. - (5) Santa Cruz, a southern territory of the Argentine Republic, stretching from the Atlantic to the watershed of the Andes; area, 106,890 sq. m.